Reviews

Review: New York Actually by Sarah Morgan

32336130

Title: New York, Actually

Author: Sarah Morgan

Published: 30 May 2017

Publisher: Harlequin Books

Source: Netgalley

Rating: 3/5

Goodreads summary

Meet Molly

New York’s most famous agony aunt, she considers herself an expert at relationships…as long as they’re other people’s. The only love of her life is her Dalmatian, Valentine.

Meet Daniel

A cynical divorce lawyer, he’s hardwired to think relationships are a bad idea. If you don’t get involved, no-one can get hurt. But then he finds himself borrowing a dog to meet the gorgeous woman he sees running in Central Park every morning…

Molly and Daniel think they know everything there is to know about relationships…until they meet each other that is…

Review

Today, we are back again to analyze a work done by a certain Ms. Sarah Morgan. Now, this isn’t the first book that I have read from her. The first book that introduced me to her works was Miracle on 5th Avenue.

Okay, to start off our little discussion of the book at hand I must be frank and say that whilst I found the book to be sweet, relatively easy to digest with a dash of predictability I was not drawn into the plot. It didn’t engage me as much as Miracle on 5th Avenue did and I am not to sure as to what is the root cause for this.

Maybe… just maybe it was due to our lead female character, Molly. I was not feeling this character and you know I tend to lean towards the female characters rather than the male ones regardless of how handsome they are described in the book.

Molly is supposed to be a very intelligent woman (the woman had a PhD for Christ sake) yet she believes this crackpot notion that she can’t fall in love because of her DNA (like what?? she could have just been aromantic for all we know) and trust me girl, I have had my share of relationships and now that I am older I definitely do not characterize them as love. So, all in all Molly needs cool it.

Image result for calm yourself meme

There were other instances as well where I really question if Molly really is intelligent because sometimes her logic isn’t as sound as I assumed it would be.

The male character, Daniel, is okay I suppose. Very typical knight in shining armor and AHA! I have just realized why this book was a so-so book for me.

IT’S THE CHARACTERS!

They are just not memorable and when reading you are just like okay… whatever.

The sex scenes in this book wasn’t so great either BUT… this one scene where Daniel and Molly were kissing under the tree under the rain was just pure… FUYOOOOH!!!

The one thing that I was excited for when reading this book was them introducing the main characters for the next book Holiday in The Hamptons and I logged on and requested it on Netgalley so fast and lemme just say I was not disappointed.

Be sure you guys tune in to my next review because that will be the next review.

Overall, this book was okay. A bit on the meh side for me with forgettable lead characters and a weak plot.

*I received this book from the publishers via Netgalley in return for an honest review

3 thoughts on “Review: New York Actually by Sarah Morgan

Leave a Reply

