Reviews

Review: Stalker on The Fens by Joy Ellis

stalker on the fens

 

 

Title: Stalker on The Fens

Author: Joy Ellis

Published: 18 October 2016

Publisher: Joffe Books

Source: Netgalley

Rating: 3/5

 

Goodreads blurb

DETECTIVE NIKKI GALENA’S FRIEND THINKS SHE HAS A DEADLY STALKER

DI Nikki Galena’s friend Helen Brook is involved in a serious accident where she is trapped in a collapsed cellar. After her hard-won recovery, Helen is still getting flashbacks to a man she says was down there with her and who confessed to a murder. But no trace of this man can be found.

Then Helen tells Nikki that someone is watching her. But is all this in her friend’s imagination and part of her post-traumatic stress?

And why is Stephen Cox back in town? He’s the villain who tore Nikki’s life apart and he seems to have returned for revenge.

Before long the whole town is on the verge of hysteria and her friend’s fear will lead Nikki and Joseph on a very dangerous trail.

Review

And I am back again with another riveting (really?) review! Today, I’ll be talking about Stalker on The Fens by Joy Ellis. This isn’t the first book I read by her, I read another book in the same series but I can’t remember the name.

To be honest my feelings for this book was okay. Okay as in, it didn’t really hook me in and make me want to invest more than just my time with the characters and the blame doesn’t even go to book. I lack any interest in any of the characters because I don’t know their full background story for me to fully appreciate their quirks, strength and weaknesses and the blame for me not knowing their full background story is unfortunately Netgalley.

They post these books up on their website but they don’t tell you it’s a series and worse they don’t tell you which book it is WITHIN a series and for me who is the type of reader that requests books because they look fun to read AND DON’T do any type of cross-checking on Goodreads will end up being fucked because then you are left in this weird limbo of knowing just enough for your interest to be piqued but not nearly enough for you to be wholly invested in the books or the overall plot.

So, back to the review, this is why I cannot fully immerse myself in the story because there are some aspects of the plot within this book that I don’t know. For example, in this book Nikki has to take another cop in her team because of something I can’t recall and this dude, Eric, has attitude problems and in the team the person who absolutely cannot tolerate him is Cat (everybody else also hates him btw) and it happened because of a previous case they worked together for of which I obviously didn’t read about. This is not the only example too. There is another one, another cop in the book recently suffered from some personal issues where her fiancée went missing and again it was in the previous book OF WHICH I DID NOT READ. So, do you feel me when I say that I cannot fully immerse myself because of these small holes of knowledge that I do not possess.

That aside, I must say the book is still enjoyable to read as a stand-alone. The plot is independent enough that you don’t need to read any of the previous books but it definitely helps to make you feel more for the characters. Additional depth if you know what I mean because then you know how each character correlates to another and stuff like that.

Another issue that I have with this book that isn’t due to external factors is the ending. I felt it was a bit too rushed. I mean I was REALLY liking the gruesome scenes in the earlier parts of the book where Nikki’s friend was murdered and a mandala was carved INTO her flesh and stones were put within the folds of the carved skin and I was really amped up for the pay out to be PHENOMENAL but when I read the reveal I was disappointed. The reasoning behind the perpetrators actions felt a bit off and out of nowhere. Had the motive behind the murder been fleshed out more, the ending would have been even better and I definitely would have enjoyed the book more than I did.

*I received the book from the publishers via Netgalley in return for an honest review

Leave a Reply

