Reviews

Review: The Bad Luck Bride by Janna MacGregor

31451201

Title: The Bad Luck Bride

Author: Janna MacGregor

Published: 2 May 2017

Publisher: St. Martin’s Paperbacks

Source: Netgalley

Rating: 4/5

Review

I was supposed to upload this review last Thursday for a book tour but life got in the way in term of a broken down car and being stuck at the side of the road for 4 hours (6 hours if you include waiting for transport to go home).

But hey better late than never. On the bright side I finally made a Youtube video and I will link it somewhere below.

To start off, I really liked the male lead, Alex, because he is petty and is all out for revenge plus he is so bull-headed in his belief that his enemy is the real enemy he doesn’t see that his plan is going to land him in deep shit. He goes all ‘The Count of Monte Cristo’ with his revenge by taking away everything from his enemy which I low key totalllllly love because this type of revenge is the best ever! because you can see your enemy crash and burn and RELISH in their pain.

Image result for gif evil guys doing hand

Aside from the male lead, I have a soft spot for Claire (the female lead) because she has her flaws and her weaknesses but she tries to overcome them with or without help from Alex. Also, when she found out that their marriage (Alex and Claire) was initially a sham she just up and left. Legit didn’t even wait for explanation from him and I am here like YES GIRL YES!!!!

Image result for harry potter standing ovation gif

Another thing that made me like Claire was the subtle fact that she is one tough woman. She weathered (?) through three broken engagements (four if you include the latest one) and survived a horrible accident that left her an orphan when she was young and still Image result for gif exploding headmanaged to be calm, serene and most importantly somewhat sane. I on the other hand is struggling with my sanity doing this whole adulting thing along with other family issues and if it were not for my frequent exercising I would have blown a fuse a long time ago.

Plot-wise I liked how it started off real grim and it sets the context for the whole revenge plot and also how after Alex royally effed up he went out of his way to talk to Claire and so far I have not read any books in historical romance where the guy is willing to be beaten up by the girls family and just deal with it. Usually it is some form of grand gesture but in this book it was semi-realistic where it wasn’t some grand gesture but him owing up to his mistakes and rectifying them.

Back to Claire again, I liked how she isn’t a virgin and that she enjoyed her first time with fiancee’ number one (of whom his name escapes me) because so far in historical romance it is either the girl is a virgin or she isn’t but her first time completely sucks. So, this was refreshing for me.

The reason why I didn’t give the book a whole 5 star rating was because:

  • Claire’s curse was referred WAYYYYYYYYYYYYY too much it started to annoy the heck outta me. At first, I assumed the curse was some BS about her being unlucky but when it was referred to repeatedly throughout the whole book I thought that there was more to this than meets the eye you know. Maybe Claire is a legit witch and this isn’t a historical romance but actually some supernatural version of historical romance (which I was completely down for) but when it was revealed (said curse) and it was what I had assumed in the first place the disappointment was real.

Image result for the disappointment was real gif

  • Another thing that displeased me was the whole Emma’s disappearance shit (plot) and I call it that because it was confusing as hell as to what really happened. Did I read it wrong? I did read this book at 2 am but I re-read it again and was still confused and damn Emma you one heartless selfish bitch. This plot might be further explained in the second book and I might retract this statement but for now I stand by my opinion that she is selfish and didn’t think about what she put Alex, Claire and her parents through.

Overall, this book is slightly refreshing as compared to other historical romance books that I have read. Didn’t blow my mind away but definitely a very enjoyable read to soothe my ever single black hole of a soul.

*I received this book from the publisher via Netgalley for an honest review.

*MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL EEKKK!!!!!!

One thought on “Review: The Bad Luck Bride by Janna MacGregor

Leave a Reply

