Uncategorized

My 2016 reading recap

Well 2016 came and went and now it is time for me to recap what I read last year. Finally, for the first time ever I managed to complete my Goodreads challenge by reading 65 books! I increased it steadily from 50 to 65 and I felt really proud of myself. Yeah, it isn’t as great or as much as other book bloggers out there but the fact that I did it still counts as being awesome!

As for reading preferences goes, I have thought for the longest time that my favorite genre is murder mysteries and the like but after discovering Netgalley I have deduced that my favorite genre is historical romance. God. I did not expect this. I don’t know what to say honestly to this. I just find historical romance so much to read. The plot is nice, every author portrays the protagonists differently. Some heroines are spunky some are shy some are just idiotic. This must be because I am still single so I imagine myself in their shoes. I swear most of my books in my shelf in Netgalley is some sort of historical romance. Huh.

Now, how will 2017 be any different. Well, for one I have realized that I am partial to historical romance and I want to rectify that thus I have decided to do a few reading challenges that will allow/force me to read a variety of books. You can check my reading challenges in the reading challenge page up in my blog. Hopefully I can finish it all because my Goodreads challenge this year is 120 books and for my reading challenges it is about 180 ish if I finish reading everything. My plan is to not overlap the criteria because some in the list of criteria is similar to each other for example some in the 2017 Popsugar reading challenge is similar to Modern Mrs Darcy reading challenge so in each reading challenge I will read a new book.

Plans for my blog. For one I want to get internet at my house so I can finally update my blog at home and find tons of GIFs to put in my blog post because I find them funny and also really keep up with my reviews. I read a lot but I am also lazy as hell to actually write reviews so I have tons of reviews that are backlogged which in turn makes me have low rating on Netgalley which then makes me get rejected more by publishers. You have no idea how many times I am rejected by publishers for books I really wanted to read. Huh.

Anyways, that is all for my 2016 reading recap šŸ˜€

One thought on “My 2016 reading recap

  1. I’m sorry to hear about the NetGalley problem:(. You’re right about the ratings affecting how often you get rejected, though – I found it changed dramatically throughout the last year as I managed to improve my rating. Congratulations on having nailed your Goodreads reading challenge, though – that’s great. And you’re right not to worry overmuch about comparing your own reading list to anyone else’s – everyone’s circumstances and reading experiences are completely different.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

