Reviews · top ten tuesdays

Top Ten Tuesdays: Top Ten (?) Books I’ve Read Being Given 5 Star Ratings in 2016

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish and this weeks topic is  “Top Ten Books of 2016” whereby you can choose however you want to write it so I chose Top Ten-ish Books of where I have given them 5 star ratings either on Goodreads or on my book blog. Let’s get started!

When doing this meme I have realized by going through my Goodreads list is that I don’t give a lot of books 5 star ratings. Currently I have only given 12 books out 53 books that I have read, 5 star ratings. That is only 22%. Am I really a harsh book critic? I don’t think so I mean I gave 17 books 4 star ratings. Also, the books I rated 5 stars in the first half of the list are my favorite books and they are my yearly reads books so yeah. Enjoy today’s post guys! 😀

22034

Come on, guys! How can you not absolutely LOVE this book? This book was beyond AWESOME!!!!!!!!! Mind you, I have never watched the movie in fear that it would disappoint me. I read this book all the time and every time I read it, it gets better kinda like wine. Gets better with age. Yeah, it romanticizes the mafia but who doesn’t? The ending where Michael got his revenge, pure bliss! Man, talk about revenge is a dish best served cold!

5060378

It is not just this book that got 5 star ratings from me. It’s the whole Millenium series. I love the heroine, Lisbeth Salander, she is the anti-heroine whilst this book isn’t my ultimate favorite in the Millenium Series (the last one is) it gives us a glimpse of Lisbeth and what made her, her.

518848

Another heroine whom I love. She is strong, independent and another round of bad-ass-ery yet she is also young and inexperienced in terms of magic and being the Abhorsen which shows when she is fighting monsters and trying to save her dad and the world. It’s a nice perspective to see/read how she too can question herself and yet when she chooses her decision she sees it through and gung-ho’s it out. One thing I find annoying with this series is how the sequel is 19 years later and is completely with new characters. Like damn you Nix! I wanted to read more about Sabriel and how is she doing. How she became an expert in being the Abhorsen but no just had to skip all that and next thing ya know, she is already married with two children and 19 years has passed. Like dafuq.

28186

Why did I give this a 5 yet the lightning thief a 4? Hmmm… I can’t remember but whatever. It’s no secret that the Percy Jackson series is one of my favs which is also a yearly read which I can’t really do as much because I don’t actually own any of the books. It was a miracle I managed to finish the series at all to be honest. Although I am reminded of the time where I read the entire series in one day because I couldn’t borrow any more books from my uni library and yet I didn’t want to not read it. Let’s just say after that binge session I had nothing short of a migraine.

  • HP & The Sorcerers Stone/The Chamber of Secrets by J. K. Rowling

Must I say anything to this making the list? If you have read my blog long enough you MUST know that HP is the ultimate of ultimate of the ultimatest of my favorite series… favorite books… favorite everything. Nothing and I mean NOTHING can eclipse the love I have for them.

  • Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea by Ben Clanton

I was seduced by its cuteness.

28439648

This is the second book that I actually gave a 5 rating when I started doing this blog. The book just gave me the feels man and I am an emotional person. So when you write a book that just kicks me in the feels I just lose.

  • Kill The Father by Sandrone Dazieri

31204505

I really don’t bother to link the Goodreads link unless you can read Italian. To be honest I was about to give this book a 4 rating until…UNTILLLL!!! I read the ending. Magad! The ending… the ending knocked my socks off so hard it went flying once around the Earth and slapped me back. I WAS SHOOOOOOOOOKKKKKK by the ending, I am not even sure if my review will do the story JUSTICE! You guys still have to wait till next year though. Huh.

I kind of ranted about how I love the books enough so Imma just let this one slideeeeee. My review for Duke of Pleasure is here btw if any of ya’ll interested in reading it.

32608042

I really enjoyed this book even if it is historical romance. I am starting to think I am going through a romance phase. My review will be out in a few days (?) so I’ll link it here soon (if I remember that is).

So there ya go, my top ten (ish) books that I have given a 5 star rating. Which books have you read in 2016 which was lucky enough to get a 5 star rating?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesdays: Top Ten (?) Books I’ve Read Being Given 5 Star Ratings in 2016

Leave a Reply

