Reviews

Review: The Billionaire’s Stubborn Lover by Leslie North

32473715

Title: The Billionaire’s Stubborn Lover

Author: Leslie North

Published: 4 October 2016

Publisher: –

Source: Netgalley

Rating: 2/5 anythings

Goodreads summary

Nathan and Carolina are prepared to make sacrifices for their families, but they’ll have to learn to let go of the past to embrace the future.

Green architect Nathan Maxfield has always gone his own way. At 26, he’s been happy to let his older brothers take charge of their father’s construction company while he focused on environmentally friendly pursuits. With the business rebounding after a series of setbacks, now it’s up to Nathan to prove his worth. He’ll have to tame his risk-taking style to please a conservative new client, but he soon realizes his work will put a beautiful young mother in jeopardy.

At 24 years old, Carolina Valdez has more on her plate than most women. Between her failed marriages, caring for her kids, and helping with her mother’s restaurant, she hardly has time for a personal life. When she learns the restaurant will be torn down to make way for new construction, she’ll have to work even harder to keep the business going. The architect is her soon-to-be brother-in-law, and Carolina expects a fight. Instead, she finds herself getting lost in Nathan’s hazel eyes.

When Carolina and Nathan come together despite their differences, others start working to tear them apart. To find happiness, they’ll have to move on from the mistakes of their past.

Review

As much as I want to like this book it was really hard for me due to a couple of reasons of which I shall list below.

  • I felt that the chemistry between Nathan and Carolina felt forced and rushed. Their chemistry for me was underwhelming as external factors overwhelmed it what with Maria’s drama (Maria is Carolina’s mother), her three kids, and her work life combined that with Nathan’s work life. So, there wasn’t enough time for the romance to truly be the center of attention and focus for the readers.
  • I cannot relate nor understand why Carolina’s family is so dramatic and everything has to be somewhat exaggerated. For example, Maria completely opposed her dating Nathan and took it out on Carolina by just being mean and not appreciating the hard work that Carolina does. Then, there is Angie’s pregnancy. I have been around pregnant women all my life but I have never seen any of them just going all crazily hormonal and just bawls and cries over the simplest things like how Angie is in this book. It just gives women a bad rep.
  • Again back to Maria, when Carolina finally confronts her mother as to why she has been so nasty to both her and Nathan, Maria says/screams that Nathan isn’t good enough for her on the basis that he is an adrenaline junkie and will surely risk his life leaving Carolina alone which in turn relates to Maria’s husband’s death and accident which left her paralyzed and alone to take care of six children. Like, it is not that I don’t empathize it’s more of why now? Why now does Maria want to bring that up? Had the emphasis related back to their family restaurant being demolished then I would have felt the connection more.
  • The ending too felt rushed for me, I barely got to see how the dynamic between Nathan and Carolina worked and then BAM! They’re getting hitched.

But hope is not lost there are still a few things that I did like about the book one of which is that Carolina, whilst still being a bombshell is a mother of three, all of them from different fathers and Nathan barely bats an eyelash at that. I like how he just accepts her and does his best to help her and her family in his own way.

Overall, I felt the book should put more emphasis on the dynamic between the lead characters and how will they work their differences and similarities together combined that with how will Nathan navigate through life with Carolina as she has small children and balance that with his work life. The plot I felt was too busy (does that make sense) for me to really feel a connection to the main characters but then again this is what I feel and think I am sure if somebody else reads it they might like the book way better than I did. Maybe I am just mainly a historical romance girl and not really into romances that are occurring in present times or maybe I am just not used to reading Leslie North’s style of writing. I might read her earlier books so I can compare.

*A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

3 thoughts on “Review: The Billionaire’s Stubborn Lover by Leslie North

Leave a Reply

