Reviews

Review: My Rogue, My Ruin by Amalie Howard & Angie Morgan

32608042

Title: My Rogue, My Ruin

Author: Amalie Howard & Angie Morgan

Published: 21 November 2016

Publisher: Entagled: Select Historical

Source: Netgalley

Rating: 5/5 anythings

Goodreads Summary

He stole their riches, she stole his heart.

The Marquess of Hawksfield’s lineage is impeccable and his title coveted, but Archer Croft is as far from his indulgent peers as he can get. His loathing for the beau monde has driven him to don a secret identity and risk everything in order to steal their riches and distribute them to the less fortunate.

Lady Briannon Findlay embraces her encounter with the Masked Marauder, a gentleman thief waylaying carriages from London to Essex. The marauder has stirred Brynn’s craving for adventure, and she discovers an attraction deeper than the charming thief’s mask.

Brynn is a revelation, matching Archer in intelligence, wit, and passion. Stubborn and sensuous in equal measure, she astonishes him at every turn, but when someone sinister impersonates Archer’s secret personality, and a murder is committed, Archer begins to think he doesn’t stand a fighting chance without her.

Review

Damn! I am turning into a sucker for historical romance novels. I just devour them like tasty, warm, freshly baked chocolate brownies with vanilla ice cream on the top, complete with rainbow sprinkles.

I really, REALLY, REEEAAALLLYYY like this book. My Rogue, My Ruin whilst it does not have as much sex scenes as I would have initially thought but it makes up for it in the form of the sexual encounters. Like the characters don’t actually consummate their relationship until way in the last chapter but when they do meet there is so much sexual tension that you can slice it with a butter knife and the lack of the actual sex didn’t make the plot any less fun to read and that is because it allows the author to focus on other aspects, such as the interaction between Brynn and Archer and other side characters.

It was really fun to read how Brynn and Archer interacted because sometimes their interaction is funny, sometimes it’s serious and other times it’s just of what will and could happen if they are left alone for a prolonged time.

The protagonists in this book are unique in their own way where Archer is a highwayman even when he is born to nobility and Brynn has a lung problem (asthma?) but it doesn’t stop her from sneaking out of the house in the mornings and sometimes middle of the night riding her horse Apollo. Not to mention Brynn is an excellent shooter whereby she is able to defend herself had she had access to either a gun or a sword.

I also liked how their sexual encounters played out whereby the encounters themselves are classy yet the characters acknowledged what they wanted to do to each other was very very indecent. I’d be having indecent thoughts too were I cooped up in a room with a handsome species of man.

The plot was awesome!!! I say this because at the end when the true antagonist was revealed I was completely gobsmacked! I had no idea it was said character who was the mastermind of it all. Said character made me feel like if they could lie about this what else have they lied about? So it makes one wonder has everything been a lie, was not even one second of it the truth? I had my suspicions on who could be the fake Masked Marauder on another character but I was way off.

Now for the actual sex that happened at the end of the book, I really liked how Brynn was really an innocent and a virgin and had no clue what the hell to do and she needed Archer to teach her and show her what he wanted which I find quite refreshing and sweet. Plus, I liked how she finally revealed that it was her who shot him. That part was funny to read.

Overall, this book is great to read if you are looking for something light and fun to read. Maybe read it at the beach sipping cocktails and enjoying the sun.

*A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

Leave a Reply

