Reviews

Review: The Cupcake Caper by Kelle Z Riley

32479704

Title: The Cupcake Caper

Author: Kelle Z Riley

Published: 29th September 2016

Publisher: Curtis Brown Unlimited

Source: Netgalley

Rating: 3/5

Goodreads synopsis

Science is about solving puzzles. Why should solving a murder be any different? Dr. Bree Watson (aka Gabriella Catherine Mayfield-Watson) is comfortable solving chemistry problems. She isn’t comfortable finding her boss dead and being a suspect in his poisoning. Now she’s juggling: A sexy marketing manager-who may, or may not-be a contract killer. A handsome lead detective whose interest goes beyond the case. The dead man’s cranky cat. A goose-chasing dog in hot water with an animal rights group. The search for the perfect cupcake recipe. And, of course, someone who wants her out of the picture. And she thought getting a Ph.D. was hard.

Review

Wow after reading Duke of Pleasure, I am on a roll with reading. This is the second book I read last Friday which I finished on a Saturday morning.

The book was okay for me. The protagonist is Bree and sometimes I find myself quite annoyed or exasperated by this heroine. I admire that she is an excellent chemist, has a PhD, is a hardworker and keeps studious notes on everything form her cooking to her detective work but at times I find her reaction to be that of a teenager rather than that of an accomplished woman. I mean she be so jumpy all the time and her imagination really just goes all haywire and I wished she did do some snooping or I don’t know be more humorous maybe? or maybe just be way more flustered with Matthew? He is a hot piece of ass anyway. Huh.

Also, I find the plot to be so monotonous. It was so monotonous for me that when we get to the part  of uncovering the killer it lost its momentum for me and I am like “oh wow, that was it?”. The plot is pretty much about Bree talking to her co-workers and trying to be an amateur detective which is cool in my books but it lacks humor and it lacks any type of hook to reel the readers in. I also find myself disappointed that Bree’s love life did not advance much as there was no clear indication of who she will be with in the book. I mean what is the damn point of making it a romance if there was barely even any flirtation going on? I am not too sure if I will continue to read the second book in the Undercover Cat Series, it all depends on how the plot will improve.

But the book is not without some perks. I really liked the cupcake recipes at the end which I am planning to try soon. Wish me luck!

It was such a downer to read an ‘Okay’ book after reading such a good one ya know. Oh well, it’s okay as I have started reading another historical/regency romance and hope for the best. Just a thought, am I reading all this romance novels to substitute the lack of a love life in my own life?

*A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

 

Leave a Reply

