Reviews

Review: Duke of Pleasure by Elizabeth Hoyt

27240743

Title: Duke of Pleasure

Author: Elizabeth Hoyt

Published: 29th November 2016

Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

Source: Netgalley

Rating: 5/5

 

 

Goodreads synopsis

IN THE ARMS OF DANGER

Bold. Brave. Brutally handsome. Hugh Fitzroy, the Duke of Kyle, is the king’s secret weapon. Sent to defeat the notorious Lords of Chaos, he is ambushed in a London alley—and rescued by an unlikely ally: a masked stranger with the unmistakable curves of a woman.

IN THE HEAT OF DESIRE

Cocky. Clever. Courageously independent. Alf has survived on the perilous streets of St. Giles by disguising her sex. By day she is a boy, dealing in information and secrets. By night she’s the notorious Ghost of St. Giles, a masked vigilante. But as she saves Hugh from assassins, she finds herself succumbing to temptation.

ONE KISS WILL CHANGE THEIR LIVES FOREVER

When Hugh hires Alf to investigate the Lords of Chaos, her worlds collide. Once Hugh realizes that the boy and the Ghost are the same, will Alf find the courage to become the woman she needs to be—before the Lords of Chaos destroy them both?

Review

BOOM! and I am back! Hot damn guys! If you haven’t guessed yet I have been in a reading and blogging slump (more like depression hahahha) but I read this book last Friday because I was bored and work was sparse (more like I just didn’t feel like working… don’t tell my boss that) and let me tell you girl! I finished the book within A FEW HOURS OF THE SAME DAY! and what’s more… what’s more I actually wanted to read more from Miss Hoyt. This book just wasn’t enough and if I wasn’t completely, embarrassingly broke I would have bought ALL of her books online. LEGIT BUY THEM! and sweet holy Jesus books in Malaysia online or otherwise ain’t cheap people!

Anyhoots I am getting carried away…

In this book we get to meet Alf, a street urchin and also the current Ghost of St. giles and she is a young woman who has passed herself off as a boy since she was young for her own safety. She is an excellent swordsman (woman?) due to her training from St. John (helloooo I read about him in Wicked Intentions so I am completely gobsmacked that he too was the Ghost of St. Giles… serves me right to read the Maiden Lane series not in order) and one night on her ‘ghostly’ duties she saves none other than the Duke of Kyle who if I am being honest would have been assassinated had Alf not save him and this sets off a chain of events (and feelings) between them. * nudge nudge wink wink*

In all of Miss Hoyt’s books that I have read… all two of them. I am mostly intrigued by the heroine rather than the hero and for Alf I really liked how she is so cheeky and just brave as f**k. The girl parkours on rooftops for the fun of it and beats up gangsters and such, like nobody’s business PLUS she is a bad ass when it comes to swords and daggers. Can I get a hallelujah? My favorite part was after she saved Hugh, Duke of Kyle, she had the balls to go and kiss him and I was all GIIIRRRRRLLLLL YOU GO GET THAT PIECE OF ASS! You don’t wait for him to make the first move! *high five all around!*

Also, it was nice how at the end after she gets to know Hugh and his children that she wanted more. That she too would like to be protected. I mean she has been independent and protected everybody all of her life it is a nice change to have somebody worrying about you. Even though she has lived most of her life on the streets and has seen the ugliest parts of the world she seems so innocent that you have no choice but to just like her, ya know?

For Hugh, I have nothing much to say except that his lineage is interesting as he is the bastard son of the King and an actress. Oh and I liked how in the story it was his wife who was the adulterer and had a whole line of lovers and he just couldn’t change her and neither can he handle it so he decided to leave. Leave his wife and his children. Like the poor guy. To be so in love with a woman and yet for his heart to be broken by her of all people.

The plot was great. It shows how Alf and Hugh can be equals but like Wicked Intentions my fav part is when Miss Hoyt introduces characters whom you just damn well know will be in her next book so it makes you want to read more because they be so damn interesting. I don’t know whether to hate her or love her for doing this to me. Y u do diz 2 me?? Y???

I am pretty sure Miss Hoyt’s books are now an automatic read for me and most probably will have 5 star ratings from me too. I mean the way she writes she just draws the readers in and the plot isn’t all just sex and romance it has other aspects too and oh! now I remember! I love the mini stories she puts in as the header (?) for each chapter so you are like reading two stories at once.

*A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

 

2 thoughts on “Review: Duke of Pleasure by Elizabeth Hoyt

Leave a Reply

