Reviews

Review: Solid Stone: Revolving Door

27557132

Title: Solid Stone: Revolving Door

Author: E. G. Patrick

Published: 15th October 2015

Publisher: FriesenPress

Source: Books Go Social

Rating: 3/5 anythings

Goodreads Summary

Violet Cole, a recent university graduate, is rushing to her first important business meeting when she comes face-to-face with a man she finds captivating and intimidating. His penetrating gaze makes her heart pound and her legs tremble. Violet learns that the wealthy and alluring Adam Stone is renowned for his success in the high-powered corporate world. He now consumes all of Violet s thoughts. ? A self-admitted control freak, Adam becomes intrigued by Violet s untapped beauty and fierce honesty. He is determined to possess all of her. They embark on a passionate odyssey that is exhilarating and tantalizing. As their relationship intensifies, Adam and Violet must confront serious contradictions between them. How far is Violet willing to go to keep their relationship alive? Long-kept secrets are exposed leading to a surprising and explosive climax. “The Solid Stone series is highly arousing and totally engrossing. You will remember it forever and fantasize about it often.”

Review

To be honest I went into reading this book expecting it to be ala 50 Shades of Grey because of the hero being all controlling and possessive and whatnot but I was left a tad bit disappointed at how the overall plot turned out. Don’t get me wrong it was still a great book to read if you are looking for something that solely focused on the steamy sex scenes but alas I was looking for something with more substance. I say more substance as in more plot substance rather than just sex scenes throughout the book. Like people always say ‘too much of a good thing is a bad thing’ and it was like that for me with the sex scenes. I can only handle so much making out and steamy scenarios before asking the author for more plot driven scenes. Most of the sex scenes did not really give much depth in terms of plot and how will the two move forward with their relationship and by the time we do get to the climax of how they will continue with their relationship I felt like it was rushed and fell flat for me.

Some of Violet’s reaction left me flabbergasted as I felt that it was immature and she was acting as a brat especially since Adam has been nothing but a sweetheart to her. I get that she is young and naïve but come on we are the same age and I definitely side with Adam when he says he disagrees with Violet having a male roommate. I mean the way Adam disagrees seems agreeable to me, it wasn’t as if he was throwing a tantrum and throwing shit around. As far as I was concerned it was Violet who threw said tantrum.

Another thing that left me confused was Adam’s personality. He was portrayed to be somebody who is controlling to the point of being OCD (exaggeration on my part but you get what I am getting at) but what I read was somebody who was such a sweetheart who has commitment issues. His controlling personality was not fully shown in this book and it disappointed me somewhat but maybe I will get that in the next book. I think the reason why I don’t think he is controlling or his controlling personality was not shown fully was because I am Asian and I live in Malaysia where it is a country strife with patriarchy. So when Adam does his ‘controlling’ thing all I see is just a man doing his best to protect and provide for his partner. I mean in this book Adam wasn’t exactly that controlling anyway, the only time he showed that side of his personality was when he discussed the contract of their relationship and when he disagreed on violet having a male roommate and both times it was Violet who went off the deep end.

The thing that I really liked about this book was how it was written. That I enjoyed immensely. It did not read like some really badly written attempt at erotica (is this genre erotica? I have no idea). I was badly scarred after reading 50 Shades of Grey. Seriously man the words used in that book, I just can’t but Solid Stone: Revolving Door gives me a sliver of hope.

All in all this book will not stop me from wanting to read the second book to find out what will happen to Violet and Adam.

I would like to thank the author E. G. Patrick for giving me a free copy in return for an honest review.

2 thoughts on “Review: Solid Stone: Revolving Door

Leave a Reply

