Reviews

Mini Reviews: The Zodiac Legacy & Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea

30987619

Title: The Zodiac Legacy (Graphic novel)

Author: Stuart Moore, Stan Lee & P.H. Marcondes

Published: 2nd August 2016

Publisher: Papercutz

Source: Netgalley

Rating: 3/5 anythings

Goodreads Summary

When twelve magical superpowers are unleashed on the world, a Chinese-American teenager named Steven will be thrown into the middle of an epic global chase. He’ll have to master strange powers, outrun super-powered mercenaries, and unlock the mysterious powers of the Zodiac.

Review

This is the first graphic novel I have ever reviewed so please give me some leniency yeah?

The book was enjoyable in a sense that I could read it quickly without thinking too much. I was reading novels back to back to I wanted something that could give my mind a break.

There were a few things that made me feel a tad disappointed with this book and they included the action scenes. The action scenes lacked oomph and it could have been used to fully/partially showcase the characters powers which would have made the plot altogether even more awesome. Also, when reading I had this nagging feeling that I am missing something, that this wasn’t the first book in the series but I know I checked (multiple times) that it indeed is the first of the series. The plot felt like it started in the middle of the story without any prior introduction to the characters and their powers. If you had read the book then the graphic novel will complement it but for a new reader who has not read anything from this book it will be a bit confusing.

28503853

Title: Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea

Author: Ben Clanton

Published: 4th October 2016

Publisher: Tundra Books

Source: Netgalley

Rating: 5/5 anythings

Goodreads Summary

Narwhal is a happy-go-lucky narwhal. Jelly is a no-nonsense jellyfish. The two might not have a lot in common, but they do they love waffles, parties and adventures. Join Narwhal and Jelly as they discover the whole wide ocean together.
A wonderfully silly early graphic novel series featuring three stories. In the first, Jelly learns that Narwhal is a really good friend. Then Narwhal and Jelly form their own pod of awesomeness with their ocean friends. And finally, Narwhal and Jelly read the best book ever — even though it doesn’t have any words…or pictures!

Review

I gave this comic a 5 rating because it is cute and it made me happy. I mean look at the picture how can you dislike it? It is a story about a happy narwhal and his jellyfish friend. The book is full of optimism and cuteness I couldn’t resist to give it nothing but a 5 rating. 😀

I am sorry it is a very short review but yeah these are my honest opinions 😛

One thought on “Mini Reviews: The Zodiac Legacy & Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea

Leave a Reply

