Reviews

Review: The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

readthemallthon

readthemallthon-badge02-cascader

11870085

Title: The Fault In Our Stars

Author: John Green

Published: 10th January 2012

Publisher: Dutton Books

Source: Local Library

Rating: 4/5 anythings

Goodreads Summary

“I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, then all at once.”

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

Review

Well… well… well… I finally read ‘The Fault in Our stars’ by John Green. I read it because I chose it for the #ReadThemAllThon for the ‘Cascade Badge: Books That Will Make you Cry’. Now to answer said question, did I cry? No, I didn’t. Even I did not know why I didn’t cry. I thought my eyes would be like waterfalls. Spouting tons and tons of water gushing out from my eyeballs as I read the book and said ending. Anyhoots enough about me not crying let us proceed to the review.

At first, reading it, the first few chapters were good, really good. I was already thinking that would this be the book that will finally receive a 5 rating on my blog? But alas towards the end the book felt more like a 4 rating than a 5. It didn’t blow my socks off so hard it went around the world and came back to slap me across the face although I can understand why so many people did give it a 5 rating.

I like the characters and how they seem to be quite pretentious. I mean when I was 16/17, I was quite pretentious myself so can I blame them for being that? I do understand how for some readers it is annoying how Hazel calls Gus by his full name which is Augustus when everyone calls him Gus but I kind of get why she does it. It’s hard to explain but it’s a teenage-ry thing. You want to call that special someone a name only you call them to have that bond thing and I also get why towards the end Hazel starts calling him Gus. This I deduce it to be that, when he was healthy to her he is the Augustus persona, someone who can do no wrong whom Hazel looks up to (something like that) and when he got sick again she started to get to know the other side of him. The weaker side, the vulnerable side, the boy beneath all the façade. When he got sick she got to see Gus beneath the Augustus if you get what I mean. It is like dating you really do not know the person you are dating for the first 2-3 months because at that phase you are still looking good for each other, hiding flaws etc.

I read on Goodreads, one reader found it annoying how the attraction Hazel felt for Gus was just purely physical and that the only thing they did have in common was the fact they both loved ‘An Imperial Affliction’ but on this part I am more on Hazel’s side on this because it happened to me too. I liked this guy initially over looks and we got to know each other and from there I started to fall for him more because he became more than just his looks, so I assume it is the same for Hazel. She initially liked him for his looks and as they got to know each other better, they realized that even though they don’t have much in common they just liked being with each other. And hey it also helps if they are hot, I am just saying.

I also liked how this book was about teenagers who met and fell in love who just happened to have cancer. For me, there is a huge difference in a book about kids that have cancer and kids who just happened to have cancer.

The plot was okay for me, didn’t wow me but neither did I find it mediocre especially with that sad ending. To me it was the right plot for the setting (does that even make any sense?), you can’t exactly make it a happy ending can you?

I should not have procrastinated with writing the review because I cannot for the life of me remember why I liked this book (there were tons of reasons) and to make it worse I didn’t write any notes or anything. I thought the power of my mind is strong I can retain all the information which obviously did not happen. Anyways, I hope you enjoy the review. 😀

Leave a Reply

