Reviews

Review: Landline by Rainbow Rowell

21869936

Title: Landline

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Published:

Publisher:

Source: Local Library

Ratin: 4/5 anything

Goodreads Summary

Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems besides the point now.

Maybe that was always besides the point.

Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her — Neal is always a little upset with Georgie — but she doesn’t expect to him to pack up the kids and go home without her.

When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything.

That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts . . .

Is that what she’s supposed to do?

Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?

Review

I didn’t like the book at first I thought it was slow and boring and gave me the feeling of ‘what is the point?’ type of feeling but the more I read it the more the book and its characters grew on me. It’s kind of like this one person in class or wherever where you thought they were boring or snobby or arrogant but once you get to know them personally there weren’t so bad as you had initially thought. This book was like that.

I read on Goodreads that a lot of people couldn’t get into the story because Neal (the husband) was kind of an anti-social hobbit etc but surprisingly out of all the characters there. It was Neals character that I felt most in sync with. It was his character not Georgie who kept me reading wanting to know more.  It was something about him that made me feel like we were kindred spirits somehow.

A lot of people on Goodreads disagreed on how Neal should have reacted when he was upset at Georgie staying but I didn’t because I know how it feels to be co-dependent on someone. You know the situation isn’t working out in your favor but you don’t want to leave for a few reasons aside from because there is still some feelings left.

I also loved how Neal shows his love in grand gestures that Georgie kinda took for granted which shows that a guy will show you he cares and loves you in his own way and his way might not always be flowers and diamonds all the way.

But the part of the book which made me really stick by it is when Georgie used the landline and accidentally called Neal in the  past. I loved the interaction happening between the present/future Georgie and past Neal and how Neal knows Georgie isn’t herself but he just accepts it and goes with the flow. It was this that made up the rating to a 4. For me it was sweet, how they just talked about the randomest things just so they could keep talking longer.

Aside from that, it was a nice change to read about relationships that have realistic problems and are messy and sometimes miscommunication happens which in turn causes couples to fight and how sometimes you’re just so done with fighting that maybe if you push it under a rug the problem will magically go away but it doesn’t. Also, I liked how everybody in Georgies’ family was quite chill about Heather being gay and how they were all eh okay… More people should be like that in the world.

I guess that is all from me for this book. If I miss out anything I’ll just update this post I suppose. 😀

BTW, the authors name is legit Rainbow??? Her parents actually named their daughter Rainbow???!! That is beyond cool! I have always assumed the name Rainbow was I duno a pen name I guess and when I saw it was her actual name on wiki I was like wowww…

2 thoughts on “Review: Landline by Rainbow Rowell

Leave a Reply

