Reviews

Review: The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith

 

Title: The Silkworm24031343

Author: Robert Galbraith

Publisher: Mulholland Books

Published: 14th April 2015

Source: Personal

Rating: 4/5 anything

 

 

 

 

Goodreads Summary

When novelist Owen Quine goes missing, his wife calls in private detective Cormoran Strike. At first, Mrs. Quine just thinks her husband has gone off by himself for a few days–as he has done before–and she wants Strike to find him and bring him home.
But as Strike investigates, it becomes clear that there is more to Quine’s disappearance than his wife realizes. The novelist has just completed a manuscript featuring poisonous pen-portraits of almost everyone he knows. If the novel were to be published, it would ruin lives–meaning that there are a lot of people who might want him silenced.
When Quine is found brutally murdered under bizarre circumstances, it becomes a race against time to understand the motivation of a ruthless killer, a killer unlike any Strike has encountered before…
A compulsively readable crime novel with twists at every turn, THE SILKWORM is the second in the highly acclaimed series featuring Cormoran Strike and his determined young assistant, Robin Ellacott.

Review

After the disastrous letdown that is Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, I sped through ‘The Silkworm’ as fast as my broken heart allowed me too and boy was it GOOD!

Let’s get started!

Reasons why this book deserves said 4 star rating I gave it:

  • The Plot
    1. Surprisingly it was difficult for me to know or guess who the killer was. I had my suspicions on a few suspect characters but just before the last nail was in the coffin, a new information made me re-think that this character is the killer. So it was super fun trying to figure out who was the actual killer and what their motives were.
    2. I say surprisingly because in ‘The Cuckoo’s Calling’, I figured out who was the killer right off the bat and it took away the fun of guessing who was the antagonist
    3. I also loved how the plot showcases the interaction between the characters. Whether it’s between Strike and Robin or Robin and Matthew or Strike and Matthew etc.
    4. When finally the killer and their motives were revealed I kinda empathize with said killer and thought yeah they disemboweling the victim for such a motive was wrong but understandable. I mean sometimes when people are pushed and pushed and pushed and provoked they just snap and sometimes what is unleashed is not something you would like to encounter. Like ever.

 

  • The Characters
    1. I think the main reason why the Cormoran Strike series is fast becoming my favorite is because of the characters. I LOVE THEM! Especially Strike!!!! Because one he is described as ugly, okay maybe not ugly per say but he isn’t classically handsome either and the most important feature is that he is an amputee. The dude has no leg! So this not only has an effect in his movement but also his mentality where he does not want pity but sometimes when he can’t cope with the pain he just has to swallow his pride and just show that he is an amputee to the world. Also, I love how Strike is stubborn. Stubborn in every sense from refusing to accept money not even one cent from his famous father to him being OCD in his work what with being a total neat freak. I am very familiar with his type of stubbornness because I live with one particular person who is similar. Strike despite his physical flaws is actually quite a smart and intelligent guy and has a soft side which I find so endearing. Let me just be honest, Strike is my favorite character.
    2. In the second installment, I was so ready for Robin to be Strike’s partner in crime and be busting criminals like they be MnM’s so I was surprised that she was still just doing admin job almost halfway through the book and constantly saying that he wants to hire someone else and I am here like what? Why?? Then when confronted by Robin, Strike has his reasons which I find quite valid which in turn affects her relationship with Matthew. So this makes me interested in the whole Robin-Matthew-Strike relationship in the upcoming books and how it will all pan out.
    3. Robin is also one of my fav characters. Like duh. She is understanding, mostly calm, a bad ass driver and she doesn’t judge Strike nor feels like she has to pity him for his disadvantages and her understanding him on a level that is more than just work colleagues make me think that maybe in the future they will be together? Maybe? Kinda like Mulder and Sculley, all platonic til’ BAM we meant to be with each other. I am okay either way although I hope they don’t get together too soon I still prefer their relationship still being in the friend-zone.
    4. FINALLY! I get some background story to Charlotte. I have been wondering about her since the very first book and although the book didn’t give me the whole story they did give me enough. So from what I can gather, Charlotte is a literal hot mess. She is both physically beautiful and hot and also a complete mess mentally and emotionally. So this combined with Strike’s very steady personality I can see why she found him to be her oasis and her escape although I hate that she is a manipulator. But at the same time it was so great because it shows that not everything that sparkles is good nor great ya know?
    5. You know there is one character I did not like. I was on the fence about him but this book made me see he is a douche. An insecure, jealous, and controlling douche (although towards the end he did relent a bit to let Robin pursue her lifelong dream) and he is Matthew. Robin’s fiancée. In one part of the book when Matthew finally met Strike he let slip the only reason he was with Robin was because she was the only woman that was both smart and beautiful enough for him in a small town and HE DIDN’T HAVE MUCH OF A CHOICE. LIKE WHAT? If I was Robin, Imma take my fine ass out of that relationship ASAP! And honestly throughout the whole book all he did was bitch about Strike and Strike who just met him for an hour or two already deduced that the dude has insecurity issues. Ugh… but he is linked with Robin’s past and why she left Uni so I am interested to see what the hell went down back then.
    6. Aside from the main characters (Robin, Matthew, Strike and Charlotte), we also get to see an array of really funky characters like Owen Quine’s wife, Pippa who was born Phillip, Orlando (Quine’s mentally retarded daughter), and others (I forgot their names… sorry)
      • This reminds me that I liked how this book has diversity in it. Diversity in sexuality, physical form, personality quirks stuff like that. It was great to read and really an eye opener that not everybody is what you would ‘normal’.

 

  • Writing
    1. Writing wise, it was easy for me to read and understand. There were some words of which I was unfamiliar with but that was easily countered by my dictionary app in my phone. Internet is a miracle I tell you. An absolute blessing.

 

If you’re wondering why I didn’t give it a 5 rating even after writing such a long review which consisted of nothing else but praise is because it didn’t ‘feel’ like a 5 rating type of book. It was such a great and enjoyable read but it didn’t blow my socks off or make me have a book hangover or anything. I know just rating a book based on my ‘feeling’ isn’t exactly professional reviewing but that’s how I felt about it.

Wow, okay I did not expect my review would be very long. I guess you can see how I feel for a book based on its length of review. If I hate it or love it, the review can go on for what seems like forever which explains why love and hate are just two different sides of the same coin. If I feel just okay about the book I tend to be more straightforward about my review. Tell people why I like/dislike it, elaborate a bit and the end.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith

  1. Yes, I loved this one, too:)). And I do know what you mean about this being an accomplished but not exceptional read – but I’m betting this one will still be cycling through your brain at odd moments even a year after you’ve read it AND when someone mentions the title you won’t have any difficulty recalling the story. That’s what has happened to me, anyhow… Apart from anything else, I love the way Rowling sends up the writing/publishing industry. Thank you for your review – I really enjoyed reading it:).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

