Reviews

Mini Review: Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi

 

Title: Furthermore

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Published: 30th August 2016

Publisher: Dutton Books for young readers

Source: Netgalley

Rating: 3/5 anythings

 

Goodreads summary

There are only three things that matter to twelve-year-old Alice Alexis Queensmeadow: Mother, who wouldn’t miss her; magic and color, which seem to elude her; and Father, who always loved her. The day Father disappears from Ferenwood he takes nothing but a ruler with him. But it’s been almost three years since then, and Alice is determined to find him. She loves her father even more than she loves adventure, and she’s about to embark on one to find the other.

But bringing Father home is no small matter. In order to find him she’ll have to travel through the mythical, dangerous land of Furthermore, where down can be up, paper is alive, and left can be both right and very, very wrong. Her only companion is a boy named Oliver whose own magical ability is based in lies and deceit–and with a liar by her side in a land where nothing is as it seems, it will take all of Alice’s wits (and every limb she’s got) to find Father and return home to Ferenwood in one piece. On her quest to find Father, Alice must first find herself–and hold fast to the magic of love in the face of loss.

Mini Review

I say this is a mini review because the book that I received from Netgalley is just the sneak peek for Furthermore which suited me just fine. I mean its great I got to read a bit of the book as an appetizer to see whether I will like the book enough to actually buy it.

Based on the limited pages I read, the book is okay for me. I probably wouldn’t buy it because it isn’t my type of book but I am not putting it off if I can read it for free.

There were aspects of the book that confused me a bit. For example, their magic system. I didn’t understand off the bat how it worked and how it in turned created a currency. Did the people of Ferenwood worked? or they used their magic in exchange for money? Like what is going on.

I didn’t really warm up to the main character. I found her annoying and a brat but I did like the self-confidence that girl has. She doesn’t look like anybody else and because of that people call her ugly or worse she looks like nothing but she doesn’t let that affect her as much because she knows she is pretty and intelligent and all that. That type of confidence and self-assured-ness is refreshing to read in a heroin. You have no idea how tedious it is to read about heroes/heroins who constantly feel like they ain’t worth sh*t. Seriously man what this girl, Alice, thinks about herself from the get-go is the bomb because she knows that since she can’t fit in she might as well just live life to the beat of her own drums.

I also liked the relationship she has with her mother. Her mother isn’t the best nor the warmest mother around and I liked that. It shows some diversity relationship-wise that not all mothers can be good mothers and neither can all mothers just innately love their children.

Another thing too, I liked how the writing made me feel like it was someone reading me a bedtime story. It was odd considering it was me reading it to myself but yeah it soothed me for some reason.

But then again like I said earlier, the book isn’t my type of book. It didn’t make me want to rush to Amazon and pre-order it or anything but if I find it in the library or a friend lent me one I wouldn’t mind reading it.

Leave a Reply

