Reviews

Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

 

Title: Harry Potter and the Cursed ChildHarry_Potter_and_the_Cursed_Child_Special_Rehearsal_Edition_Book_Cover.jpg

Author: J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne

Published: 31st July 2016

Publisher: Little Brown UK

Source: Owned

Rating: 1/5 anythings

Review

I do not even need to put the Goodreads summary do I? It is Harry Potter. So let’s just dig in shall we?

This review was so hard for me to do because of how heart-crushingly disappointed I was. Thing and writing this review made me feel like I am experiencing a break-up from a boyfriend all over again, that’s how bad it was. Like at first it was all happy unicorns and rainbows which now turned to acid rain and pain and you realize maybe this relationship isn’t as healthy as you’d think it would be.

I found so many problems with this book that I literally can write a whole chapter on it but I won’t because I don’t want to spoil the plot and I just want to get it over with as fast as possible.

The main problem I had with this book are the characters and it wasn’t problems with new characters either. I had problems with existing ones such as Harry and the gang, Dumbledore, Snape and so on. The way they were written seemed so out of character, I had a hard time believing that they are the same people I read about in the other 7 books. Yes, I know they have gotten older but some aspects such as skill in defeating dark magic or intelligence can only increase with experience and age and the older version of our beloved characters do not show that. Which I find ludicrous especially if said character is Hermione Granger. In this book Hermione did not solve anything. Did not give any sort of suggestions whatsoever and the riddle and spells she put in her library as a way to safe keep an important artifact was easily undone by teenage boys. I felt this was such a shame because this is the same girl who created the coins the DA used for their meetings and such.

I also had a problem with how they portrayed Albus and Scorpius. The way they were written in how they interacted with each other and their feelings it makes me feel like they have more than just bromance going on. It makes me feel like they have actual romantic feelings for each other and I was excited for it to be that which would explain why those two felt so ostracized and even more alienated in Hogwarts  but then going to the end Scorpius goes and asks Rose Granger-Weasley out and I was like ‘wait what?!’. That pairing (Scorpius and Rose) came out of nowhere and you’re left feeling indignant because hello… Albus and Scorpius make a way better couple than Scorpius and Rose.

But the main problem as to why this book is the only one Harry Potter book I dislike is because of the antagonist. At first, the antagonist was great. Bad-ass (check), Intelligent (check), strong as f**k (check), manipulative (check), evil (check) but the more I read the more the antagonist seemed like this sad pathetic antagonist and the relationship between the antagonist and Voldemort was that one straw that broke the camel’s back. More like my back. I WAS THAT CAMEL!! Out of all the characters I could accept to be written so out of character, Voldemort I can’t. Him, I cannot for the life of me accept if he acted out of character.  All the other problems in this book I could overlook you know, turned a blind eye, both eyes if I had too if this problem didn’t exist but it did and with its presence my heart was forever broken. Voldemort for me was the best type of villain, he honestly did not give a rats ass about anybody but himself and also Nagini but then again he had a part of himself in Nagini so yeah it was pretty much just himself then.

I know the format was script format and I am just reading half of the experience because it a whole play but my problems with it wasn’t the format it was the characters and the plot which I kid you not for me read like a poorly written fanfiction.

I just can’t accept this because I know Rowling is a good writer, I read almost everything written by her. Stuff on Pottermore, Harry Potter, Cormoran Strike series… do you know how it feels when you waited so long for this book, your expectations was so high and then for you to read it and read how the characters you come to love with all their flaws are horribly different and I am not the type to get excited over a book very easily and immediately buys it once it is stacked on shelves.

I wanted to like this book I really did and thank God, Scorpius was written as a character because I find him sweet and adorable. He was the one star rating. Let’s just say I now am so heartbroken I don’t care who borrows this book and this is huge coming from a person who has issues with lending books to people.

10 thoughts on “Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

  1. Eep. Sorry that you were disappointed by it! I enjoyed it myself but I can see why so many fans are disappointed. I think one thing to remember is that J.K. Rowling didn’t write the script, which is probably why so many things feel out of character. I definitely don’t consider it to be canon and kind of enjoyed it as I would a fanfiction. It is kinda weird that it’s so OOC though since Jo was probably involved in the conception of the project… I ASSUME.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah true… I just find it hard to believe she wouldn’t advise them or something about the characters. Maybe they wanted to try something new I guess since it is more of a play rather than a book. If people asked me if I liked it had it been strictly fanfiction I would say yeah I’d like but it isn’t. I guess I just put way too much expectation and hope in it. I am glad you liked it though 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so sorry you were so desperately disappointed… I had a nasty feeling it would be quite a different read, but Himself pre-ordered the book and didn’t get past the first few pages. So you’re not the only one who feels very let down.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes… Himself felt much the same way. I heard an intereview about The Cursed Child on Radio 4 and decided I wasn’t going to bother with the book from what was being said…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It was emphasising that it was taking the Harry Potter world forward in new and unexpected ways. And I decided I didn’t want to read about the ‘new and unexpected ways’ after all… I tend to be rather defensive about my literary loves.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

