Friday 56

Friday 56

Hello and Assalamualaikum! Friday 56 is a weekly meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. So the rules are reaaaaaally simple.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader
(If you have to improvise, that’s ok.)
*Find any sentence, (or few, just don’t spoil it)
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post below in Linky (in Freda’s Voice blog btw). Add the post url, not your blog url.
*It’s that simple

The Silkworm

“Looking disgusted, her assistant dragged the big dog, with its head like a living Anubis, out of her office; as Strike and the Doberman passed each other, it growled energetically”.

I have wanted to read/get this book for awhile now and when I finally did, I expected to just zoom through the book and get it done in no time. I didn’t expect my reading pace to be slow, I guess I am scared it won’t be as good as I had hoped it would be kind like how I am excited yet scared for when I finally read Harry Potter and The Cursed Child. Like will it be as good as the other Harry Potter series? Will it be better? Will I be disappointed? Seriously I am like freaking out because I have never and I mean NEVER spent RM 100++ on a single book so I am really hoping it will blow my mind to smithereens!

Do any of you feel that way? Like finally get a book you’re excited for but scared of reading it at the same time in fear of disappointment?

2 thoughts on “Friday 56

  1. Yes… when I picked up the latest series by Jo Walton which is set in ancient Greece and is a science fiction/fantasy mashup. I did worry that her investigation into the Platonic way of life would be rather dry and uninteresting. I needn’t have – it is a fabulous, fascinating read that transported me thousands of years into the past and gave me a glimpse into one of the philosophical theories that have underpinned our modern life. I hope you, too, find that your worries are also unfounded:))

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

