Reviews

Review: Ink and Bone by Lisa Unger

Title: Ink and Bone

Author: Lisa Unger

Publisher: Touchstone

Pubhlished: 7th June 2016

Source: Netgalley

Rating: 4/5 Anythings

 

Goodreads Summary

Twenty-year-old Finley Montgomery is rarely alone. Visited by people whom others can’t see and prophetic dreams, she has never been able to control or understand the things that happen to her. When Finley’s abilities start to become too strong for her to handle – and even the roar of her motorcycle or another dazzling tattoo can’t drown out the voices – she turns to the only person she knows who can help her: her grandmother Eloise Montgomery, a renowned psychic living in The Hollows, New York.

Merri Gleason is a woman at the end of her tether after a ten-month-long search for her missing daughter, Abbey. With almost every hope exhausted, she resorts to hiring Jones Cooper, a detective who sometimes works with psychic Eloise Montgomery. Merri’s not a believer, but she’s just desperate enough to go down that road, praying that she’s not too late. Time, she knows, is running out.

As a harsh white winter moves into The Hollows, Finley and Eloise are drawn into the investigation, which proves to have much more at stake than even the fate of a missing girl. As Finley digs deeper into the town and its endless layers, she is forced to examine the past, even as she tries to look into the future. Only one thing is clear: The Hollows gets what it wants, no matter what.

Review

OMG! Finally I read a really good book and to think I was so close to dismissing it. So close.

The book pretty much tells us about Finley who is a budding psychic who is undergoing a training of sorts with her grandmother who is also a psychic, a famous one at that. To get this review started I am going to discuss about the things I disliked with the book and then we will move forward to the things I did like.

The thing I didn’t like about the book was how it was hard for me to distinguish who is narrating the current POV or storyline. I am not sure if this was done deliberately by the author as this is the first book I have read by Lisa Unger but had the shift between storyline within the same timeline been more distinct, it would have been slightly better. At least for me it would, because it was more than once where I think I am reading a narration by another character take for example Finley only to realize it had been a different character all along so I had to reread those parts of the story to get a good grasp of what is going on.

Also, there is another thing I disliked that was in the book which had nothing to do with the plot or anything. I really didn’t like the name Rainer, he is Finley’s boyfriend. Like I just did not vibe with it, in my head it rhymed with bummer. Rainer bummer. It just didn’t work for me; maybe if his name was just shortened to Rain it would have been better but yeah that name was seriously like a thorn at my side. Something I could overlook but doesn’t make it any less annoying.

It is not all bad news for this book. On the contrary, there are so many other things that I did like about it.

  • I like the characters in the book especially Finley. She reminded me of Lisbeth Salander from ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’ what with the spunky short hair, tattoos and bad-ass attitude. I also liked how each of the characters had some flaw or weakness in them that made them more real and more human in a way. Not that weakness is a bad thing but it’s nice to see that even characters with bad-ass attitudes or strong and stable characters can breakdown under the worst of circumstances

 

  • I love the plot. OMG the plot was so good, I am having plot hangover especially the plot-twist at the end. I DID NOT see that coming. That plot twist gave the book the best ending for the plot.

 

  • I also love the writing and the whole different storyline but same timeline thing because that way you can not only read but actually feel what the characters feel especially that little girl that was kidnapped. I could feel her desperation and her need to survive. Her desire to be back home with her family. Some parts it was hard for me to continue reading because it emotionally hurt especially when reading from the little girls’ narration. It is because of that that I am having a book hangover. Like I can’t stop thinking about it because the child is so innocent and for something so terrible to happen to her, it’s just unthinkable.

 

Ugh. If it wasn’t for that one part that I disliked, I would have gladly given the book a 5 rating.

I really hope this book has a sequel because I would love to read more as Lisa Unger has acquired a new fan!!! Now knowing she has written other books I will be keeping an eye out if her books are either in the library or the bookstore.

Anyhoots, I got this book from Netgalley in return for an honest review. 😀

One thought on “Review: Ink and Bone by Lisa Unger

Leave a Reply

