Reviews

Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Title: Red Queen41VTPDCAq5L._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Publisher: HarperTeen

Published: 10 February 2015

Source: Local Library

Rating: 3/5   2/5 Anythings

Goodreads Summary

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.

Review

Hello & Assalamualaikum Peeps! (Yeah I know, a Book Review Monday published on Tuesday but I was busy with my new hobby :D)

To be quite honest I had a lot of trouble in trying to give this book a definite rating because I experienced a love-hate thing going on. I was on the fence of either giving it a rating of 2 or 3 but after deliberating for the LONGEST time and reading other bloggers reviews I decided to finally give it a rating of 3.  You know what, I changed my mind again, I am giving this book a 2/5 rating. I swear man this book made me remember why, just why, I took a break from reading YA.

The why shall be discussed below (WARNING IT MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!!)

Why I had problems with it

1) The so-called protagonist and heroine of the story, Mare Barrow.

  • She is SO ANNOYING! Her annoying-ness totally short circuits my vocabulary in an attempt to describe her.
    • Mare damn well INSISTS that she is a great judge of character and she knows who to trust and whatnot because she is a pickpocket and thus knows how to read the signs and body language but when reading the book all I read was this pathetic teenage girl who is making mistakes of which has a terrible price. People died mind you because she trusted the wrong person. Bodo ka apa biak ya! (Okay sorry my Sarawakian came out)
    • I read some reviews on Goodreads and yeah I agree with Jessica in which she says that Mare is a terrible freedom fighter. I mean at first Mare was all hell yeah! YOLO all the way but when shit hits the fan she be all I can’t handle this not when people are dying and I’m here all like well what did you think Mare? Unicorns and rainbows and happy sword balloons when you want to start a revolution?????
    • The low self-esteem thing I can definitely handle because hey I was 16 once but the whole refusing to listen to Julian when he warned her about Maven pissed me off. Like, so what? You knew the guy for about a month-ish suddenly you’re like The Maven expert? I mean you would think that it would cross her mind that maybe just MAYBE Julian had a reason to say so considering oh I don’t know… THAT HE KNEW MAVEN LONGER?????
    • I hate that she keeps comparing (more like CONSTANTLY comparing) the Silvers and the Reds. Like, Dude! Chill it! The first 50 pages (exaggeration here) were fine but when you overuse said comparison it wears on you.
    • She is so melodramatic

2) The Scarlet Guard

  • I swear they have THE SHITTIEST safety measures in taking in new recruits I have ever read in my entire life.
  • For example, after knowing her brother Shade died, Mare decided to join the Scarlet Guard and all she had to do was just go to Will (I think that’s his name I forgot) and say she wanted to join. Then they shake hands and the deed was done with a few fancy words to fill in the awkward void (Okay, the awkward part was only in my mind). Reading this I was like okay maybe they loosened the safety thing ’cause she is a Red like them but theeeennnn I read how Maven was brought into said terrorist organization.
  • All Maven had to do was say a few words to make Farley and the gang trust him and a sponsor and he was already in. *FLIPS THE GOD FORSAKEN TABLE* I get that the Scarlet Guard doesn’t have much experience in terms of war but damn straight do none of them have a shred of common sense in them? Bringing in a Silver, a Silver Prince at that, without even testing his allegiance or loyalty or even wonders at his motives? and then they’re all shocked when he betrays them at the end. I smelled a rat the moment I read how easy it was to infiltrate the Scarlet Guard. Did they not realize that Maven had everything to gain? IF Maven and Cal shared the same mother it would have been more believable that Maven really did want a change but he didn’t and it was so obvious that if Cal wasn’t in the picture and neither was dear ol’ dad it would be him that would inherit the throne and seeing how his mom is a power hungry b*tch, she would definitely see that he would.

3) The attempt at what I assume to be the love triangle

  • The main problem I had with this was that Mare didn’t seem to have any chemistry with either of the brothers nor Kilorn for that matter.
  • I wished that the author fleshed out the romance aspect more in terms of how or what made Mare fall in love with them (Cal, Maven and/or Kilorn) since she wanted to put it in the plot in the first place.
  • I say this because reading the plot Mare doesn’t seem to know why she likes either of the brother and when she does state the why it seems forced as if she was trying to convince herself.
  • Best example for how a romance should be fleshed out is the Hunger Games love triangle. There you understood why Katniss cared for both Peeta and Gale and at the end why she chose Peeta.

4) There were a lot of loopholes

  • As we know Silver had god-like powers and Queen Elara has the power of mind-control and she didn’t expose Mare’s escapades with the Scarlet Guard because obviously it was her plan all along but then a thought struck me, there must be others that have similar powers like the Queen so why didn’t they find out about Mare’s plans? It’s not like Mare was being discreet to the point of no return.

 

Why I did like the book

Surprisingly, there were parts of the book that I actually like *GASP*!

Oddly, enough I actually like the authors writing. If you minus the melodramatic annoying main character, her writing is very enjoyable to read.

Next is that, I actually connect with Queen Elara and this is because at the end we find out that it was because she used her powers on Mare that she was able to mold Maven into Mare’s dream guy. It didn’t pan out as well as I had hoped but the premise of this part of the plot made me think that finally one of the characters has some guts and intelligence.

Also, Queen Elara also said to Mare did she think the Queen was stupid enough not to realize it was Mare who let the prisoners escape. SEE! Even the antagonist of the plot realizes that Mare isn’t the smartest pea in the pot.

Wow this review is more of a rant. I did not expect that I would give a 2 anything rating for this book considering at first I gave it a 4 anything rating but after some deliberation and thinking I just couldn’t give it more than a 2 to be honest. I don’t think I will continue to read the second book unless its out in my local library.

One thought on “Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

