Reviews

Review: Shadow Over The Fens by Joy Ellis

 

 

Title: Shadow Over The Fens

Author: Joy Ellis

Publisher: Joffe Books

Date Published:30th June 2016 (Expected Publication)

Source: Netgalley

Rating: 3/5 Anythings

 

Goodreads Summary

WHO CAN NIKKI TRUST WITH TWO BRUTAL KILLERS LOOSE ON THE FENS?

Someone terrible from DS Joseph Easter’s past is back . . .

DI Nikki Galena’s friend and neighbour meets a tragic end but there’s more to his death than meets the eye . . .

A man is found executed on a piece of wasteland in Greenborough town. The cold-blooded murder triggers terrible memories for DS Joseph Easter. Just when things seemed to be going well for DS Easter, he realises that the nightmare is coming back, threatening his career, his sanity, and maybe his life.

In a breath-taking conclusion even DI Galena begins to doubt him as he faces a race against time to save someone very close to him.

Set in the Lincolnshire Fens: great open skies brood over marshes, farmland, and nature reserves. It is not easy terrain for the Fenland Constabulary to police, due to the distances between some of the remote Fen villages, the dangerous and often misty lanes, and the poor telephone coverage. There are still villages where the oldest residents have never set foot outside their own farmland and a visit to the nearest town is a major event. But it has a strange airy beauty to it, and above it all are the biggest skies you’ve ever seen.

Review

Before I start getting into the nitty gritty of the plot I will discuss a bit of the bookcover. Overall, I liked the bookcover, it fitted the description of the Fens and how it was different ends of the spectrum depending on the person. Beautiful and free for one person and suffocating and depressing for the next.

Anyhoots, I just had one problem with the cover and it was the line that said ‘A crime thriller with a twist’, it really wasn’t necessary to add that because obviously every crime thriller will have a twist so by saying it early you kinda spoiled the fun of said plot twist.

Now, we shall go to the book review. This book for me was an enjoyable read it wasn’t a mind-blowing one probably because there were some things that I didn’t understand as my English is mainly American English. So there was a bit of a language barrier thing going on especially in the books the author used slangs and such which I didn’t understand and also there were a few acronyms that I didn’t get like CID or SOCO and a few others (this is not the authors fault, I am just really bad at acronyms).

Next, I felt like the books’ pacing for me was a bit off for me. JUST A BIT. I say this because I had problems with the ending of the book where it was too fast as compared to earlier parts of the book.

This is the last problem I had with the book as after this it will be smooth sailing. Said problem was that I couldn’t understand why the problem from Joseph’s past affected him so much as there was a considerable gap between then and the present so you’d think that he would be somewhat over it. I am thinking that whatever happened in the first book had something to do with Joseph’s poor mental state which henceforth made him more cray and easier to be manipulated by said problem of the past (I did not know there was another book before this okay).

The things that I did like about the book was the characters especially Nikki Galena and Joseph Easter. These characters showed depth in where they both are strong, independent, smart and resourceful but they also showed weaknesses in where aspects of their job does get to them and that they also struggle like normal people.

Lastly, I liked the twist at the end and yes I did complain about the pacing and how can you not? The pacing stole all the thunder and momentum that the plot twist gave. Had the author just elaborated it a bit and gave a bit more of information or explanation it would have been great.

Okay this will the be last one (Promise), I LOVED how at the back of the book the author gave an explanation to all the acronyms and slangs that were used throughout the book and yes I discovered it too late but its better late than never.

*I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

Leave a Reply

