Reviews

Review: Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly

3.png

Hello and Assalamualaikum! Todays post will be a review post, yeay! (Yeay on my part because another read book has been reviewed :D)

Title: Revolution

Author: Jennifer Donnelly

Published: First published October 12th, 2010

Pages: 472

Rating: 2.1/5

untitled.png

BROOKLYN: Andi Alpers is on the edge. She’s angry at her father for leaving, angry at her mother for not being able to cope, and heartbroken by the loss of her younger brother, Truman. Rage and grief are destroying her. And she’s about to be expelled from Brooklyn Heights’ most prestigious private school when her father intervenes. Now Andi must accompany him to Paris for winter break.

PARIS: Alexandrine Paradis lived over two centuries ago. She dreamed of making her mark on the Paris stage, but a fateful encounter with a doomed prince of France cast her in a tragic role she didn’t want—and couldn’t escape.

Two girls, two centuries apart. One never knowing the other. But when Andi finds Alexandrine’s diary, she recognizes something in her words and is moved to the point of obsession. There’s comfort and distraction for Andi in the journal’s antique pages—until, on a midnight journey through the catacombs of Paris, Alexandrine’s words transcend paper and time, and the past becomes suddenly, terrifyingly present.

 untitled2.png

Damn. I didn’t expect reviewing this book would be so hard. Not because it blew my mind away or anything but because of the opposite. To be honest I didn’t feel anything reading this book. Maybe a twinge of emotion here and there but not enough for me to write a long ass review and discuss everything in detail. So, I’ll just cut to the chase.

I had trouble with the pacing of the plot and the plot itself. This trouble only occurred halfway through the book where we see Andi meeting Virgil and lo and behold he is the love interest. I felt like they bonded way too fast with no real thing to bond over apart from them jamming together and he so happened to be nice (mind you serial killers can be nice too) to her. Their relationship seemed a bit far fetched to me at least not until I read the whole time-travelling-high-from-drugs (?) plot twist. Where I was like this is just pure BS right now. I don’t even know why the time-travelling issue had to be inserted into the plot, it doesn’t make sense AT ALL! If the author decided to do the time-travelling thing every time Andi read Alexs’ diary then probably it was more believable that way but instead it happened way WAYYYYYY at the end of the book where it had absolutely no relation to any other aspect of the plot. None whatsoever.

Then, the whole ipod thing being brought back to the past where she gives it to Amade who listens to Led Zeppelin (or whoever) and gets an epiphany for this musical score also with the help from Andi which makes me disappointed because first that would mean he wasn’t a genius because obviously he didn’t create the musical score himself and second the ipod thing was BEYOND far fetched at this rate. The plot was starting to sound like some hindi/tamil movie plot where the realms of science do not exist.

Okay now to the characters. Suffice to say I did not like Andi Alpers, I empathized with her over the loss of her younger brother but I felt like she is a very spoilt child. This can be seen when she uses a lot of money to buy her mother painting stuff then gets affronted when her dads’ girlfriend does not allow her to use/take more money using the dads credit card to buy food. I am here like well you should have thought of that earlier on now huh? To me, Andi Alpers did not have or underwent suffice character development. It was like she was sad and suicidal for awhile then she reads this diary, gets obsessed meets this genius rapper-dude and gets better from her depression. The other characters in the book I felt were too one-dimensional and bland and again no character development or depth of any sort.

Now, not all of the book was that bad to me or made me raise an eyebrow. Some parts were ok and readable. For one, I like the character Alexandrine. She went from this ambitious and cunning young woman out to get what she wants with any means necessary to a doomed one trying to save the prince of France (in vain I might add). Okay actually now thinking about it I think I managed to finish the book because I somewhat liked Alexs’ POV.

Character: 2/5

Plot: 2/5

Pacing: 1.5/5

Writing: 3/5

Overall: 2.1/5

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

